Winnetka, Sports

50-plus local student-athletes celebrate their college commitments on fall signing day

Local athletic departments on Wednesday, Nov. 9 honored their respective student-athletes who will continue to hold that title at the next level.

The fall signing day is the first day athletes in most sports can make their college commitments official with a national letter of intent. Football and basketball have multiple signing periods.

See below for a full list of fall signees.

New Trier High School celebrated the accomplishments of 27 Trevians, including six female rowers and five female swimmers. Some of the most notable signings are: soccer player Lida Dodge going to Purdue, swimmer Charlize Escasa to Yale and lacrosse player Audrey Rudolph to Ohio State.

At Loyola Academy, 24 Ramblers were recognized on Wednesday — the biggest lot coming from the school’s prolific lacrosse programs. Four male and two female lacrosse players signed, including Nate Schwitzenberg, who will attend the University of Notre Dame, and Eileen Dooley and Riley Jenkins, who will join forces again at Marquette. Four rowers, three girls soccer players and three baseball players were also among the group.

About Schwitzenberg, coach Rob Snyder said in a statement: “Guards opponents’ best offensive player each game. Leader of our defense. (He) will be team leader for the upcoming spring. Should make an impact as a frosh once he steps on campus at Notre Dame.”

Highland Park High School congratulated swimmer Kayla Newman, a Ball State commit who will finish up her illustrious high school career at the state championships Friday-Saturday, Nov. 11-12.

List of New Trier, Loyola and HPHS student-athletes recognized during fall signing day ceremonies (alphabetical order by sport)

New Trier

• Charlie Hahn, University of Chicago
• Graham Mastros, St Louis University
• Brenden Stressler, St Louis University
• Henry Wolfe, Elon University

Loyola Academy
• George Haracz, University of Massachusetts
• Connor Lasch, Concordia University
• Michael Southard, Concordia University

New Trier

• Jake Robledo, Morehead State University

Loyola Academy

• Ellie Grammas, Southern Methodist University

New Trier

• Emma Smith, Babson College

New Trier

•Alex Creamean, Bucknell University

Loyola Academy
• Ryan Banas, Marquette University

New Trier

• Grace Mawicke, Lehigh University
• Kennedy Meier, University of Michigan
• Audrey Rudolph, Ohio State University
• Addie Shevitz, Arizona State University

Loyola Academy
• Eileen Dooley, Marquette University
• Riley Jenkins, Marquette University

Loyola Academy

• Easton Bello, Colby College
• Luke Bobby, Nazareth College
• Derek Brier, Wabash College
• Jameson Kane, Ithaca College
• Nate Schwitzenberg, University of Notre Dame

New Trier

• Julia Alexander, University of Wisconsin (Madison)
• Ruby Barnett, Boston College
• Lydia Hales, UCLA
• Bella Kasprisin, University of Wisconsin (Madison)
• Evelyn Orsic, University of Texas
• Lucy Rush, University of North Carolina

Loyola Academy
• Sophia Close, Georgetown University
• Anya Cominos, University of Wisconsin
• Olivia Rucker, University of Wisconsin
• Katelyn Passino, University of Virginia

New Trier

• Lida Dodge, Purdue University

Loyola Academy
• Eva Pattison, University of Iowa
• Emily Pikarski, University of St. Thomas
• Ellianna Seeley, Northern Michigan University
• Emma Shaffer, Calvin University

New Trier

• Eli Drake, Lake Forest College
• Evan Kanellos, University of Chicago
• Karsten Segall, St. Olaf College

Loyola Academy
• Mercedes Delgado, Maryville University
• Maureen Kinsella, University of New England

New Trier

• Charlize Escasa, Yale University
• Rose Jania, University of San Diego
• Megan Meade, University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)
• Carley Moerschel, Colby College
• Maggie Papanicholas, Northwestern University

Highland Park
• Kayla Newman, Ball State University

New Trier

• Julia Ross, Bowdoin College

Loyola Academy

• Ava Bogan, Cornell University
• Catherine Burke, Penn State University

The Record is a nonprofit, nonpartisan community newsroom that relies on reader support to fuel its independent local journalism.

Subscribe to The Record to fund responsible news coverage for your community.

Already a subscriber? You can make a tax-deductible donation at any time.

joe coughlin
Joe Coughlin

Joe Coughlin is a co-founder and the editor in chief of The Record. He leads investigative reporting and reports on anything else needed. Joe has been recognized for his investigative reporting and sports reporting, feature writing and photojournalism. Follow Joe on Twitter @joec2319

Related Stories